International Women's Day 2017

On International Women's Day (8. March 2017), Dr. Alice Lassnig was honored by the FWF for her Hertha Firnberg proposal "Length scale effects on brittle-ductile interface failure." The Hertha Firnberg program is for outstanding post-doctoral researchers and provides the recipient with funding for three years. Dr. Lassnig is a post-doc in Dr. Megan Cordill's group which studies thin film and interface behavior at ESI. Congratulations!

IAAM Scientist Metal - Prashanth Konda Gokuldoss

Dr.-Ing. Prashanth Konda Gokuldoss was awarded the IAAM Scientist Metal of the year 2017 during the award ceremony of International Association of Advanced Materials held on 11th March 2017 at the Diamond Princess Cruises, Singapore. He was awarded with this prestigeous medal because of his noted research in the field of development of advanced materials through additive manufacturing especially by selective laser melting.

Josef Krainer-Preise 2017 überreicht - Walter Ochensberger

Graz (16. März 2017).- In der Aula der Alten Universität wurden heute (16.3.2017) die Josef Krainer-Preise 2017 von Landeshauptmann Hermann Schützenhöfer verliehen. Die Verleihung nahm LH Schützenhöfer gemeinsam mit Gerald Schöpfer, dem Obmann des Josef Krainer-Gedenkwerks und Johanna Mrak, der Tochter des kürzlich verstorbenen Josef Krainer jun., vor. Zur Verleihung waren auch zahlreiche Ehrengäste, darunter Landesrat Christian Buchmann, LH a.D. Waltraud Klasnic, Bundesministerin a.D.

TMS 2017 San Diego

The 146th TMS annual meeting and exhibition took place from 02/26/17 until 03/02/17 in San Diego/CA. Besides invited talks of our Institute’s head Prof. Jürgen Eckert and Prof. Reinhard Pippan, many oral contributions as well as poster presentations were given. Moreover, the symposium “Fracture properties and residual stresses in small dimensions” was organized by Assoz. Prof. Daniel Kiener, and several ESI staff members contributed as chairs in other topic-related symposia.

TÜV AUSTRIA Science Award 2016 for Walter Ochensberger

Award winner DI.Dr. Walter Ochensberger with DI.Dr. Stefan Haas (TÜV AUSTRIA CEO)

Dr. Walter Ochensberger was awarded the TÜV AUSTRIA Science Award 2016 in the category for universities for his thesis, “Characterization of fatigue crack growth with the configurational force concept”.

MSE 2016 Darmstadt - Material Science and Engineering Congress

From September 27th -29th, 2016, the Material Science and Engineering Congress (MSE) was hosted in the small but charming city Darmstadt, Germany. More than 1400 participants shared their work with the community in six topics with 55 symposia, making this congress to one of the largest in the field of Materials Science in Europe.

Gordon Research Seminar & Conference (GRS & GRC): Thin Film and Small Scale Mechanical Behavior

The Gordon Research Seminar & Conference: Thin Film and Small Scale Mechanical Behavior was held at the Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, at the end of July 2016.
The event provides a collegial forum for discussions on state-of-the-art topics and presentations of cutting edge research in indentation testing, in-situ microscopy, micro-mechanics of fracture at interfaces and size effects in dislocation plasticity. The Erich Schmid Institute and the Department of Materials Physics were represented by 5 participants.

Thermec 2016 Distinguished Award goes to Univ. Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pippan

Thermec 2016 Distinguished Award goes to Univ. Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pippan!

For his pioneering research in the field fatigue, fracture and severe plastic deformation of advanced material and for leadership in materials education in Austria Prof. Reinhard Pippan received the Thermec 2016 Distinguished Award at the recent Thermec conference in Graz.

Thermec is one of the largest conference series in the field of processing and manufacturing of advanced material which takes place every 3 years. The conference in Graz had more than 1200 participants.

“Lange Nacht der Forschung” at ESI

Last Friday, April 22, ESI participated in Austrian’s largest research event “Lange Nacht der Forschung” (“Long Night of Research”). This nation-wide project’s goal was to show the general public  current research work in a comprehensible and if possible entertaining way. Interested visitors of all ages came to the Erich-Schmid Institute between 4 pm and 10 pm. The theme at ESI was: “Would you like to see atoms?” (“Wollen Sie Atomen sehen?”) where visitors learned basic principles used to describe the atomic structure of metallic materials.