Danke, Doris!

Wir danken Dir für 16 Jahre und wünschen Dir alles Gute für Deine Zukunft!

Dein ESI-Team

Best Student Talk Award for Dipl.-Ing. Imrich

Dipl.-Ing. Peter J. Imrich was awarded “Best Student Talk” at the Nanobrücken 2015, Nanomechanical Testing Workshop & Hysitron User Meeting in April 2015. His oral presentation entitled “In situ compression testing of miniaturized twinned Cu bicrystals” covered part of his PhD thesis aimed at better understanding the influences of grain boundaries on the mechanical behavior of micromechanical samples.


From left to right: O. Warren, P.J. Imrich, J. Ast, D. Stauffer

10th Meeting of ESIS-TC2 on Micromechanisms

13th−14th April in Leoben, Austria

The anniversary 10th meeting of the re-established Technical Committee TC2 on Micromechanisms of the European Structural Integrity Society (ESIS) was held 13th−14th April 2015 at the Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria.

Program released - 10th Meeting of ESIS-TC2 on Micromechanisms

The program of the 10th Meeting of ESIS-TC2 on Micromechanisms will be very exciting, consisting of one keynote lecture and 37 oral lectures.

International Symposium on Plasticity – Montego Bay, Jamaica

New year 2015 had just started, but the annual “International Symposium on Plasticity” took already place in Montego Bay, Jamaica from Jan. 4th to Jan. 9th, where 300 international participants in 3 parallel sessions met to share their newest scientific results in the widespread field of plasticity. Prof. O. Kolednik and Prof. D. Kiener presented invited keynote lectures on new concepts of materials design and thermo-mechanical properties of ultra-fine grained materials, respectively. Moreover, within extended keynote lectures, Dr. V. Maier, DI M. Kapp, and DI O.

Award of Excellence for Dr. Wimmer

The Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy honored the best thesises once per year with the Award of Excellence. This year it was given to Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Alexander Wimmer, who has finished the thesis "Plasticity and fatigue of copper microsamples"  this year at our Institute.

*Frohe Weihnachten * Merry Christmas*

Frohe Weihnachten &

ein glückliches neues Jahr 2015

wünscht das Erich-Schmid-Institut in Leoben

Responsive Design

Our web appearence is fully responsive. The new update features an improved user experience to provide fast and easy access throughout publications, projects and all types of information.

2015 TMS MPMD Young Leader Professional Development Award

Dr. Megan Jo Cordill has been chosen as recipient for the 2015 TMS MPMD Young Leader Professional Development Award.

Anniversary TC2 of ESIS at ESI

Anniversary 10th meeting of the Technical Committee TC2 on Micromechanisms of the European Structural Integr